Be the Editor: Social Newsmarking and Citizen Journalism (CommonMedia.org)

As citizen journalism sites emerge in greater numbers, I thought it was time to follow up on my earlier post, Be The Media, to look specifically at how Web 2.0 social bookmarking features are being integrated and used to broaden the reach of independent media.

Be The Media summarized the emerging platform for public webcasting that allowed everyday people to publish multimedia stories and commentaries – from blogging to podcasting. While the infrastructure I described helps people distribute media, there wasn’t as much a focus on sites that help publishers find an audience.

Since then, a number of social bookmarking sites for news have emerged. CommonMedia, my network, launched CommonTimes, a social bookmarking site dedicated to news and the blogosphere. Flickr was used widely during the London terror attacks to share photos and information about the bombings. Digg emerged as a Slashdot-like technology news community. And recently, NowPublic launched as a platform for citizen journalists to publish their work.

As these “newsmarking” sites grow into successful news portals, readers have more of a role in story selection and promoting independent journalism and blogging. (more…)

, , ,

6 thoughts on “Be the Editor: Social Newsmarking and Citizen Journalism (CommonMedia.org)

  1. Just surfing around and noticed the post. I haven’t seen Common Times or Now Public before, they look interesting. I didn’t notice much depravity though. 🙂

  2. Hi,We’ve quietly been working on the next release of NowPublic and it is now – finally – in testing. We still have a few seats left in our beta group so if you’re interested in getting an advanced viewing before we launch please let me know. In the coming weeks I’ll post additional details here but please feel free to contact me in the meantime. My email address is clorenz(at)nowpublic(dot)com.Best,Calder Lorenz,Director, Contributor Relations, NowPublic.com

  3. Hi,As promised, here are the details…It looks like the NowPublic V3 beta program will be starting next week. Let me know if you want to join us. We’d be very interested in what you think. My email address is clorenz(at)nowpublic(dot)com. Thanks,CalderEmail: clorenz@nowpublic.com

  4. Hey,As promised, here are the details about NowPublic V3We will be going live tomorrow between 6am and 6pm (pending the servers showing up to work). You can find a sneak peak here:http://www.flickr.com/photos/clorenz/ Feel free to drop me a note with your comments. Thanks. My email address is clorenz(at)nowpublic(dot)com.Yrs,Calder

Comments are closed.