Why You Are Asking Me, I’m Not Sure… (Barely Legal: The Blog)

A fair number of desperate 1Ls have IMed me and requested advice on preparing for and taking exams. The fact that they are asking me for advice in fact proves their desperation. However, given the sheer number of people who have asked, I’ll give it a shot.

The best advice about taking exams that I can give is: Be sure and write down your exam number and bring it with you. The first exam I ever took in law school was property. Like all of you 1Ls, I was understandably nervous. I thoroughly prepared for the exam (by using someone else’s outline, of course). I brought two pens to use in case I needed to make notes. I brought a bottle of water and a granola bar. I dressed comfortably. And I arrived early to make sure the exam taking software loaded properly. I was the epitome of a well-prepared and focused law student.

I started the exam software (which, if you aren’t aware, shuts down all other programs on the computer and makes them inaccessible). I was all set to take the exam when it prompted me for my exam number. Suddenly a wave of panic came over me as I realized that I had not looked at my exam number since it was emailed to me the week before.

(more…)

