Bronx D.A: True Stories from the Domestic Violence and Sex Crimes Unit. by Sarena Straus


Fellow chorus member Sarena Straus has a new book out, Bronx D.A: True Stories from the Domestic Violence and Sex Crimes Unit:

I spent three years as a felony assistant in the Domestic Violence and Sex Crimes Unit (“DVS”) of the Bronx District Attorney’s office, one of approximately 400 Assistant District Attorneys working in the midst of arguably the highest crime and the most impoverished area of America.

I began at the office at the age twenty-five, straight out of Fordham Law School. This book is about my experiences in combating sex crimes and domestic violence during my stint with DVS. Most DVS attorneys don’t last much longer. The literal and emotional battles, both won and lost, eventually destroy you.

I began with a burning desire to be part of the safety net, to prosecute criminals who terrorize the most defenseless among us. How and why I finally had to stop is the unusual psychological tale of this book.

Much of what I’ve written is shocking; my cases dealt with child molesters, serial rapists, psychopathic batterers, murderers. Often there are touches of warmth and humor as I share the camaraderie that developed among those of us on the front lines – my fellow attorneys and our support network: the physicians, social workers, advocates and cops who do what is truly God’s work. I believe that my book is ultimately hopeful, reminding readers that there are still everyday heroes out there, people whose only reward is helping another human being in times of desperate need.

Monday, 6/19 she’ll be on MSNBC’s The Abrams Report between 6 and 7 pm and on Good Morning New York (Fox5), 7:45 AM

Congratulations, Sarena!

