NYS’s Unclaimed Funds

The NYS Comptroller is responsible for holding unclaimed funds for NYS residents:

The State of New York is currently holding billions of dollars in unclaimed funds. Some of this money may belong to you!

For your protection, banks, insurance companies, utilities, investment companies and many other businesses are required by State law to surrender inactive accounts to the State. As State Comptroller, I serve as custodian of this money until you claim it. The State of New York never takes ownership of this money. If you can prove you are entitled to the money, I will gladly return it to you, at any time, without charge.

This website will tell you how to avoid having your money turned over to the State and how to get it back if it is abandoned.

It might be fun to see if NYS is holding any money of yours. I mention this because a few years ago, my sister and I searched and found an insurance policy check for my Mom. And I just searched a friend’s name and she had an old account which she had to contribute to when she was teaching. She said it may have as much as $2000!

One thought on “NYS’s Unclaimed Funds

  1. This is great service and I’m glad to see that NYS is actively reaching out to its constituents. I found several hundred dollars in unclaimed insurance premiums for my dad two years ago and the process for recovery is not difficult.

Comments are closed.