American Classics Concert: Gershwin, Glass & Adams,


It’s time for great American Music at Carnegie Hall on Wednesday, May 23 , 8 p.m. , when the New York Choral Society will perform a concert version of “Porgy and Bess” by George Gershwin. This is the all-time American classic. Songs like “Summertime,” “I Got Plenty o’ Nuttin’,” “Bess, You Is My Woman,” and “I Loves You Porgy.” It’s a program with soul. I’ve heard the soloists at rehearsal and they’re fabulously entertaining.

Plus there’s a piece by the contemporary composer Philip Glass called “Itaipu”. For those who don’t know his style, think a modern Bolero or Carmina and add the setting of a waterfall in the tropical jungle of Paraguay. Based on the creation myth of Guarani Indians, for whom the Parana River is the place where music was born. Believe me, you’ll know what I mean, after you hear this piece. It’s quite breath-taking.

Order tickets directly online. Tickets are $20-$75. Limited student rush tickets are $10 the night of the concert with valid ID.

